TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Screen Actors Guild Awards

Screen Actors Guild Awards

Photo Credit:  Ramona Rosales / SAG Awards
  • Premiered: 
    February 25, 1995
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: NBC
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Entertainment
  • Tags: celebrity

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Of the top industry honors presented to performers, only the SCREEN ACTOR GUILD (SAG) AWARDS are voted on solely by actors' peers in the Screen Actors Guild. Since the SAG AWARDS started in 1996, it was the first televised awards show created by a union to honor the work of actors and the first to present ensemble and cast awards. The SAG AWARDS nominees are chosen by separate film and television nominating committees, each consisting of 2,200 SAG members from around the country, randomly selected anew each year. All active members of Screen Actors Guild are eligible to vote for the final Actor recipients. The SAG AWARDS had no host until 2018, when Kristen Bell presided over that year's event.
Hosted by Megan Mullally, the 25th Annual SCREEN ACTORS GUILD AWARDS was simulcast live nationwide on TNT and TBS on Sunday, January 27, 2019 from 8-10pm ET/5-7pm PT from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. Scheduled presenters include (in alphabetical order): Awkwafina, Alec Baldwin, Angela Bassett, Matt Bomer, Chadwick Boseman, Bradley Cooper, Laverne Cox, Adam Driver, Sam Elliott, Lady Gaga, Henry Golding, Ben Hardy, Ken Jeong, Gwilym Lee, Richard Madden, Rami Malek, Ricky Martin, Joe Mazzello, Tracy Morgan, Chris Pine, Keri Russell, John David Washington, Constance Wu, and Michelle Yeoh. Harry Shm Jr. is the Ambassador for the 25th Anniversary SAG AWARDS. Plus, Alan Alda is honored with the latest SAG Life Achievement Award. Viewers can stream the event, beginning with the red carpet event at 5:30pm ET/2:30pm PT at


Other Titles

  • Also known as: SAG Awards

Production & Distribution

  • Produced by Jeff Margolis Productions


  • Universal Studios (1995) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!
  • Santa Monica Civic Auditorium (1996) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!
  • Shrine Exposition Center (1997-Present) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!

Firsts, Lasts & Notable Notes

  • January 21, 2018: First time the SAG Awards had a host (Kristen Bell).