TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Laureus World Sports Awards

Laureus World Sports Awards

  • Premiered: 
    June 6, 2000
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: TNT
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Sports
  • Tags: celebrity

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year since 2000, the LAUREUS WORLD SPORTS AWARDS has celebrated the achievements of athletes from across the sporting world in all disciplines and from all continents. Profits from the Awards go to underpin the work of the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, which provides financial and practical support to more than 150 projects that use the power of sport to provide coaching and education to young people in some of the most challenging or deprived environments around the world. The inaugural awards gala -- hosted by Jeff Bridges, Ashley Judd and Dylan McDermott -- was taped in Monte Carlo on Thursday, May 25, 2000 and televised by TNT on Tuesday, June 6 at 9pm ET/PT. All Saints, Toni Braxton and Bon Jovi performed, and the following celebrity presenters were scheduled to appear: Samuel L. Jackson, Sylvester Stallone, Rebecca Romijn-Stamos, Goldie Hawn, David Hasselhoff, Naomi Judd, Greg Kinnear, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Craig T. Nelson, Chuck Norris, Kurt Russell, John Stamos, Venus Williams and Dennis Franz. The three nominees for the first World Sportsman of the Year award were: Andre Agassi (United States) - Tennis; Maurice Greene (United States) - Athletics; and Tiger Woods (United States) - Golf. Plus, the first nominees for World Team of the Year were: Australian Rugby Union Team; Manchester United Soccer Team; and United States Women's Soccer Team.
On Sunday, April 26, 2015 at 2pm ET, NBC premiered the 2015 LAUREUS WORLD SPORTS AWARDS, which was hosted by two-time host Benedict Cumberbatch and taped on April 15, 2015 in Shanghai. Ethiopia's world indoor champion Genzebe Dibaba was named Sportswoman of the Year