TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

The British Academy Film Awards

The British Academy Film Awards

  • Premiered: 

    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: BBC
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Entertainment
  • Tags: film, celebrity

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year since 1948, the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has recognized the best films, as well as performances, writing and directing in movies. Formed on April 16, 1947, the British Film Academy aimed to "recognise those who had contributed outstanding creative work towards the advancement of British film." Eleven years later, the British Film Academy merged with the Guild of Television Producers and Directors to form The Society of Film and Television Arts. The first Fellowship was presented to Alfred Hitchcock by BAFTA President HRH Princess Anne in 1971. In 1976, the Society became known as the British Academy of Film and Television Arts. In 1998, the film and television awards were divided into separate events, with the film awards held each February and television productions honored every May. Immediately after the split, the awards were called the ORANGE BRITISH ACADEMY FILM AWARDS and kept that title until the event was renamed the EE BRITISH ACADEMY FILM AWARDS in 2013.
The 2018 awards, hosted for the first time by Joanna Lumley, were held on Sunday, February 18, 2018 at London's Royal Albert Hall, with BBC America presenting the U.S. broadcast the same night from 8-10:30pm ET/PT. In addition, live streams the red carpet, beginning at 12pm ET. Of theatrical films, the movies receiving the most nods, include THE SHAPE OF WATER (12 nominations), DARKEST HOUR (9), THREE BILLBOARDS OUTSIDE EBBING (9), BLADE RUNNER 2049 (8), AND DUNKIRK (8). This year's recipient of the Fellowship award is Ridley Scott, and fans can vote in the Rising Star category, selecting from these nominees: Daniel Kaluuya, Florence Pugh, Josh O'Connor, Timothee Chalamet and Tessa Thompson.


Other Titles

  • Also known as The BAFTA Awards
  • From 1998 - 2012, known as Orange British Academy Film Awards
  • Since 2013, known as EE British Academy Film Awards


  • Royal Opera House (2008-2016) - London UK
  • Royal Albert Hall (2017 & 2018) - London UK