TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Alias Grace

Alias Grace

Photo Credit:  Sabrina Lantos/Netflix
  • Premiered: 
    September 25, 2017
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: CBC
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Drama
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Based on the 1996 book (Alias Grace) by Margaret Atwood 
  • Subject Matter: Crime
  • Tags: period

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
  • Click icon to watch or own full episodes
    Season 1

Plot Synopsis

Based on Margaret Atwood's 1996 novel of the same name, ALIAS GRACE is a six-part drama series the tells the story of Grace Marks, a poor, young Irish immigrant and domestic servant in Upper Canada who, along with stable hand James McDermott, was convicted of the brutal murders of their employer, Thomas Kinnear, and his housekeeper, Nancy Montgomery, in 1843. James was hanged while Grace was sentenced to life imprisonment. Grace became one of the most enigmatic and notorious women of 1840s Canada for her supposed role in the sensational double murder, and was eventually exonerated after 30 years in jail. Her conviction was controversial, and sparked much debate about whether Grace was actually involved in the murder, or merely an unwitting accessory. On Friday, November 3, 2017 at 3:01am ET/12:01am PT, Netflix released the entire six-episode series in the United States, a little more than five weeks after its world television debut on CBC in Canada.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by Halfire Entertainment
  • Produced by CBC
  • Produced by Netflix