TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Wonders of the Universe

Wonders of the Universe

  • Premiered: 
    March 6, 2011
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: BBC2
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Documentary
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Second series in WONDERS OF franchise, following Wonders of the Solar System 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags: science, astronomy

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Host Brian Cox illustrates how the same physical laws that describe the behavior of light, gravity, time, matter and energy here on Earth can explain the qualities of the greater universe. In four episodes, he travels the world to find simple phenomena on our planet to help him explain more complex behaviors, such as: demonstrating how the universe continues to become increasingly disordered by using the deserts of Namibia; showing how the water of Victoria Falls mimics the way light moves around a black hole; breaking the sound barrier in a fighter jet to explain how the speed of light allows us to measure distance and time; and many more locations where Cox shares personal stories, historical anecdotes and scientific insights. Science aired the U.S. premiere of the series on Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 9pm ET.


Other Titles

  • Also known as Wonders of the Universe with Brian Cox

Production & Distribution

  • Produced by BBC