TV Tango Search

Search

|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert
   TelevisionCakeAd

Super Bowl

Super Bowl

Super_bowl_55_241x208
  • Premiered: 
    January 15, 1967
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: NBC
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Sports
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Championship game for NFL 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags: football (pro)

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

  • Click a button to buy a DVD at Amazon
  • NFL Super Bowl Collection I-XLVI
    • Amazon
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

As part of a merger agreement between the National Football League (NFL) and the American Football League (AFL), the first Super Bowl was played on January 15, 1967. The first three years pitted League Champions against each other. Since the merger, the Super Bowl has been played every year since 1970 between the AFC and NFC Conference Champions. The winning team earns a trophy, named the Vince Lombardi Trophy in 1970 after the former Green Bay Packer head coach died. The Pittsburgh Steelers are the winningest Super Bowl team, having won six trophies, while the Dallas Cowboys and San Francisco 49ers have each won five.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AFC champion Kansas City Chiefs play NFC champion Tampa Bay Buccaneers in Super Bowl LV on Sunday, February 7, 2021 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, FL, broadcast live by CBS, with coverage beginning at 6pm ET/3pm PT. The game can also be streamed on CBS All Access and CBS Sports. Jim Nantz and Tony Romo call the action, and they're joined by reporters Tracy Wolfson, Evan Washburn, Jay Feely, and Rules Analyst Gene Steratore.

During pregame, beginning at 6pm ET/3pm PT, Eric Church and Jazmine Sullivan will sing the national anthem, and H.E.R. will belt out "America the Beautiful." Plus, Warren "Wawa" Snipe, a Deaf rapper and recording artist, will perform the national anthem and "America the Beautiful" in American Sign Language. The half-hour pregame show also features the coin toss and team introductions.

The game kicks off at 6:30pm ET/3:30pm PT as the defending champion Chiefs, led by quarterback Patrick Mahomes, take on GOAT Tom Brady, who leads the Buccaneers. Brady is appearing in his 10th Super Bowl, and he's vying for this 7th lifetime win. Mahomes is making his second (consecutive) Super Bowl appearance, trying to repeat as champ and to become the youngest quarterback to win two Super Bowls.

Known for hits like "Blinding Lights" and "The Hills," The Weeknd performs during Super Bowl halftime.

The day's schedule on CBS includes:

11:30am-Noon ET/8:30-9am PT: THAT OTHER PREGAME SHOW, with CBS Sports Network talent previewing the teams, players, and storylines.

12-1pm ET/9-10am PT: "Road to the Super Bowl," which is an annual lookback at the greatest sights and sounds of the season from NFL Films.

1-2pm ET/10-11am PT: "Tony Goes To The Super Bowl," with Tony Romo swapping stories with legendary Super Bowl winning quarterbacks Tom Brady, Aaron Rodgers, Patrick Mahomes, and Russell Wilson.

2-6pm ET/11am-3pm PT: "The Super Bowl Today," anchored by James Brown, who will be joined by Boomer Esiason, Bill Cowher, Phil Simms, and Nate Burleson, along with Ian Eagle and Charles Davis.

6-6:30pm ET/3-3:30pm PT: "Super Bowl On CBS Kick-Off Show," featuring the singing of the National Anthem by Eric Church and Jazmine Sullivan, "America the Beautiful" by H.E.R., the coin toss, and team introductions.

6:30-10pm ET/3:30-7pm PT: SUPER BOWL LV, with Jim Nantz and Tony Romo calling the action, joined by reporters Tracy Wolfson, Evan Washburn, Jay Feely, and Rules Analyst Gene Steratore.

Cast