TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

She's Gotta Have It

She's Gotta Have It

  • Premiered: 
    November 23, 2017
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: Netflix
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Dramedy
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Based on the 1986 theatrical film (She's Gotta Have It) by Spike Lee 
  • Subject Matter: Relationship
  • Tags:

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
  • Click icon to watch or own full episodes
    Season 1

Plot Synopsis

Based on Spike Lee's film of the same name, SHE'S GOTTA HAVE IT is a 10-episode dramedy series that centers on Nola Darling, a Brooklyn-based artist in her late twenties struggling to define herself and divide her time amongst her Friends, her job and her three lovers: a cultured model, Greer Childs; a protective investment banker, Jamie Overstreet; and da original B-Boy Sneakerhead, Mars Blackmon. The series opens with Nola laying down her philosophy on sex and freedom between visits from her three lovers: thoughtful Jamie, playful Mars and cocky Greer. After a setback, Nola tries to regain her power and confidence with help from a little black dress. But the effect isn't what she hoped. And fed up with the toxic energy in her life, Nola embarks on a man cleanse. That doesn't mean her lovin' bed is empty, though. Lee directs the entire series and serves as creator and executive producer along with his producer wife Tonya Lewis Lee, who also executive produces. Netflix released all 10 episodes of SHE'S GOTTA HAVE IT on Thanksgiving Day 2017 (Thursday, November 23) at 3:01am ET/12:01am PT.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by Netflix


  • - Brooklyn, New York USA