TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Scream Awards

Scream Awards

  • Premiered: 
    October 10, 2006
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: Spike
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Science Fiction
  • Tags: horror, fantasy

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Since 2006, the SCREAM AWARDS annually celebrates the best performances by actors, writers, directors and the creative arts in television and movies that are part of the horror, sci-fi, fantasy and comic-book genres. Nominees in each category are chosen by an advisory board of Hollywood and genre leaders, which for the 2011 awards included Damon Lindelof, Eli Roth, George A. Romero, John Carpenter, Rob Zombie, Robert Rodriguez, Roland Emmerich, Tim Burton, and Wes Craven. Typical categories are: The Ultimate Scream; Best Science Fiction Movie; Best Fantasy Movie; Best Horror Movie; Best Thriller; Best TV Show; Best Director; Best Scream-Play; Best Performances; Most Memorable Mutilation; and many more. After the nominees are announced, winners are determined by fans who vote online at The awards show is taped in mid-October, and then broadcast a few days later. For the 2011 awards program, the show was taped on Saturday, October 15 at the Universal Lot in Los Angeles, CA, and broadcast on Tuesday, October 18, 2011 from 9-11pm on Spike. Each year, the SCREAM AWARDS honors an individual for past achievements -- with past honorees such as Johnny Depp, Harrison Ford, Keith Richards, George Lucas, Tim Burton, Quentin Tarantino, Sir Anthony Hopkins, and Christopher Nolan -- and for 2011, the following people will receive special awards: Paul Reubens (2011 Visionary Award, for Pee-Wee Herman); Robert Downey Jr. (2011 Hero Award, for IRON MAN and SHERLOCK HOLMES films); and Nicolas Cage (2011 Maverick Award). In addition to the talent receiving these special honors, the following celebrities will also attend the 2011 ceremony: Colin Farrell, J.J. Abrams, Chloe Moretz, Darren Aronofsky, Matt Smith, Joe Manganiello, Anna Torv, and many more.


Other Titles

  • Also known as Spike Scream Awards

Production & Distribution

  • Produced by Michael Levitt Productions