TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

NAACP Image Awards

NAACP Image Awards

  • Premiered: 

    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network:
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Entertainment
  • Tags: celebrity

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

The NAACP IMAGE AWARDS celebrates the accomplishments of people of color working in the fields of literature, music, television and film. The awards also honor individuals or groups who promote social justice through creative endeavors. Founded on February 12, 1909, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is the nation's oldest and largest civil rights organization. The IMAGE AWARDS were first held on February 4, 1967 at the Beverly Hilton, first televised in 1974 and first broadcast live in 2007. The NAACP President's Award, chosen by the NAACP President and CEO, is bestowed in recognition of special achievement and distinguished public service. Past honorees include President Bill Clinton, Soledad O'Brien, Ruby Dee, Muhammad Ali, Van Jones, and most recently SCANDAL'S Kerry Washington.
The 50th Annual NAACP IMAGE AWARDS premieres live from the Dolby Theater in Hollywood, CA, on Saturday, Marcy 30, 2019 from 9-11:30pm ET (live)/PT (tape) on TV One. Pop culture icon Shawn 'JAY-Z' Carter receives the prestigious President's Award, which is presented in recognition of a special achievement and distinguished public service with previous recipients including Jesse Jackson, Lauryn Hill, Soledad O'Brien, Colin Powell, Condoleezza Rice, and Muhammad Ali among others. In addition to the traditional awards categories, Congresswoman Maxine Waters is honored with the prestigious NAACP Chairman's Award, bestowed in recognition of individuals who demonstrate exemplary public service and use their distinct platforms to create agents of change. Radio icon Tom Joyner receives the Vanguard Award, an honor bestowed to a person whose groundbreaking work increases the understanding and awareness of racial issues. Celebrity presenters include: Amandla Stenberg, Chrissy Metz, Kerry Washington, KiKi Layne, Lena Waithe, Letitia Wright, Malinda Williams, Mike Colter, Roshon Fegan, Thandie Newton, Tika Sumpter, Trevor Noah, Cynthia Erivo, Danai Gurira, Issa Rae, Jimmy O. Yang, John Legend, Kate Beckinsale, Laura Harrier, Lupita Nyong'o, Marsai Martin, Mike Epps, Regina Hall, Ron Stallworth, Stephan James, Van Jones, Vin Diesel, and Winston Duke.

Immediately before the big event, TV One premieres a one-hour special, "Represent Change: 50th NAACP Image Awards Tribute," from 8-9pm ET/PT. The tribute special honors this year's nominees, past winners and significant moments. Hosted and executive produced by Urban One Founder and Chairperson Cathy Hughes, the special features in-depth one-on-one conversations with director/actress Salli Richardson-Whitfield, singer/actor John Legend, actor Stephan James, actress Loretta Devine, music industry legend Clarence Avant, soul singer Kenny Lattimore, and Congresswoman Maxine Waters.

At the same time as the special, viewers can watch red carpet arrivals, beginning at 8:15pm ET/5:15pm PT. Hosted by GooGoo Atkins, Angel Laketa Moore and Mykal Kilgore, the red carpet special is available at @NAACPImageAwards FB Live.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by Vicangelo Films (2012)


  • Pasadena Civic Auditorium (1997-2000; 2014-2018) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!
  • Universal Amphitheatre (2001-2004) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!
  • Dorothy Chandler Pavilion (2005) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!
  • Shrine Auditorium (2006-2013) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!
  • Dolby Theater (2019) - Hollywood, California USA