TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Mako Mermaids

Mako Mermaids

  • Premiered: 
    July 26, 2013
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: Ten
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Drama
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Spinoff of H2O: Just Add Water 
  • Subject Matter: Fantasy
  • Tags:

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

  • Click a button to buy a DVD at Amazon
  • Season 1, Vol. 1: Island of Secrets
    • Amazon
  • Season 1, Vol. 2: Moon Pool Magic
    • Amazon
  • Click icon to watch or own full episodes
    Season 1
    Season 2

Plot Synopsis

This sequel to H2O: JUST ADD WATER opens with new merman Zac becoming a target of the mermaid council when they see his strong and mysterious connection to Mako Island as a threat to mermaids everywhere. To stop Zac, they send two new young mermaids ashore to strip him of his merman powers, not knowing that there might be another merman in town that poses an even greater risk to the pod. MAKO MERMAIDS premiered in Australia (with the title MAKO: ISLAND OF SECRETS) at 4pm ET (local time in Australia) on Friday, July 26, 2013 on Channel Ten, just hours before Netflix released the first batch of episodes at 12:01am PDT. Less than two months later, Netflix released episodes 14-26 on September 15, 2013.
On Friday, February 13, 2015 at 3:01am ET, Netflix premiered the second season of MAKO MERMAIDS, releasing 13 new episodes. Season 2 opens when the pod decides Zac is a threat and must give up his merman powers, so two new mermaids, Mimmi and Ondina, are sent to make sure he obeys. As the mermaids struggle to take back his powers, they discover that his connection with Mako isn't quite an accident.


Other Titles

  • Originally aired in Australia as: Mako: Island of Secrets
  • Also known as: Secret of Mako Island