TV Tango Search

Search

|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert
   TelevisionCakeAd

Indianapolis 500

Indianapolis 500

Indianapolis_five_hundred_241x208
  • Premiered: 
    June 5, 1965
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: ABC
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Sports
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags: motorsports (automobile: Indy)

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each Memorial Day Weekend since 1911 -- except for 1917-1918 and 1942-1945, because of World Wars I and II, respectively -- the Indianapolis Motor Speedway has hosted the INDIANAPOLIS 500. The Greatest Spectacle in Racing is a 500-mile automobile race, which consists of 200 counterclockwise laps on a 2.5-mile racetrack. Until 1964, video coverage of the race was quite limited, because the Speedway was concerned that fewer spectators would attend the race in person. In 1964, the race was shown live for the first time on closed-circuit television in theaters throughout the United States. The following year, ABC showed tape-delayed highlights of the race as part of its WIDE WORLD OF SPORTS weekend afternoon series, which it continued to do for six years. In 1971, ABC first aired same-day, tape-delayed coverage of the event, showing a two-hour, highly edited program the same night of the race. Since 1986, ABC has televised the race live, in its entirety, usually starting late morning (East Coast Time).
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sunday, May 26, 2019 marks the first year that NBC has broadcast the INDIANAPOLIS 500, with pre-race coverage at 11am ET/8am PT, the race telecast starting at Noon ET/9am PT, and the green flag being waved by Matt Damon and Christian Bale at 12:45pm ET/9:45am PT, weather permitting. Starting from pole position for the 103rd running of the INDIANAPOLIS 500, Simon Pagenaud leads a field of 33 cars, which includes Pippa Mann as the lone woman in the race and defending champion Will Power in the second row. Plus, Kelly Clarkson sings "The Star Spangled Banner" (12:26pm) and Jim Cornelison again belts out "(Back Home Again in) Indiana". Dale Earnhardt Jr. drives the pace car. AMERICAN NINJA WARRIOR hosts Matt Iseman and Akbar Gbajabiamila are Grand Marshals.

NBC Sports' lead INDYCAR commentary team of Leigh Diffey (play-by-play), Townsend Bell (analyst), and Paul Tracy (analyst) call the 103rd Indianapolis 500 alongside pit reporters Marty Snider, Kelli Stavast, Kevin Lee, Jon Beekhuis, Robin Miller and Dillon Welch.

Sunday's coverage from Indianapolis Motor Speedway begins at 9am ET/6am PT on NBCSN and continuing at 11am ET/8am PT on NBC, with the green flag slated to wave at approximately 12:45am ET/9:45am PT. NBC Sports' nearly four hours of Indy 500 pre-race coverage is anchored by Mike Tirico alongside analyst and former INDYCAR driver Danica Patrick. Krista Voda anchors pre-race coverage from Pagoda Plaza with analysts Townsend Bell and Paul Tracy, who will serve as race analysts in the booth and have combined to make 17 Indy 500 starts. Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Rutledge Wood set the scene from various locations in and around Indianapolis Motor Speedway, showcasing the people, culture and events that comprise the largest single-day sporting event in the world, from the hallowed Yard of Bricks to the raucous Snake Pit.

Cast

Settings

  • Indianapolis Motor Speedway - Indianapolis, Indiana USA - Map It!

Firsts, Lasts & Notable Notes

  • May 29, 1971: First time the Indy 500 is shown on network TV the day of the race.