TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

ESPY Awards

ESPY Awards

  • Premiered: 
    March 3, 1993
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: ESPN
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Sports
  • Tags:

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year since 1993, the ESPYS have recognized major achievements during the previous year in sports. The ESPYS honor sport-specific performances, such as "Best MLB Player" and "Best WNBA Player," as well as the best-in-sport achievements, like "Best Female Athlete" and "Best Play." Plus, the ESPYS confer the "Arthur Ashe Courage Award" to the person showing strength in the face of adversity, courage in the face of peril and the willingness to stand up for their beliefs no matter what the cost. Each year starting in 2002, the event takes place the night after the Major League Baseball All-Star Game. The first seven ESPYS were held in New York, moved to Las Vegas in 2000, and have been held in Los Angeles since 2002.
The 2019 ESPYS, hosted by Tracy Morgan, were televised live from Microsoft Theater at L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles on Wednesday, July 10 from 8-11pm ET/5-8pm PT on ABC, with a musical performance by Tori Kelly. High school football coach Rob Mendez is honored with the Jimmy V Award for Perseverance. For her dedication to serving others, former Marine Corps Sergeant Kirstie Ennis receives the Pat Tillman Award for Service. Plus, Bill Russell is the recipient of the Arthur Ashe Award for Courage. Chris long earned the 2019 Muhammad Ali Sports Humanitarian Award.

This year's scheduled presenters include Dave Bautista, Linda Cardellini, Eric Dane, Eugenio Derbez, Elle Fanning, Christina Hendricks, Billie Jean King, Chris Long, Joel McHal, Kumail Nanjiani, Lilly Singh, Usher and more.

Top athletes and celebrities scheduled to attend include Danny Amendola (Lions), Prince Amukamara (Bears), David Arquette (actor), Saquon Barkley (Best Breakthrough Athlete nominee), Odell Beckham Jr. (Browns), Le'Veon Bell (Jets), Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Drew Brees (Best NFL Player and Best Record-Breaking Performance nominee), Cedric the Entertainer (actor/comedian), Ciara (musician), Donald Faison (actor), Jared Goff (Rams), Robert Gronkowski (three-time Super Bowl Champion), Todd Gurley (Best NFL Player nominee), Nyjah Huston (Best Male Action Sports nominee), Sabrina Ionescu (Best College Athlete and Best Record-Breaking Performance nominee), Caitlyn Jenner (previous Ashe recipient), Chloe Kim (Best Female Action Sports Athlete), Brooks Koepka (Best Male Athlete and Best Male Golfer nominee), Kyle Kuzma (Lakers), Sugar Ray Leonard (retired boxer), Romelu Lukaku (Manchester United), Patrick Mahomes (Best Male Athlete and Best NFL Player nominee), Brandon Marshall (Raiders), Von Miller (Broncos), Ninja (Best E-Sports Moment), Paul Pierce (former NBA player), Christen Press (USWNT), Roman Reigns (Best WWE Moment nominee), Terry Rozier (Hornets), Mikaela Shiffrin (Best Female Athlete nominee), Iman Shumpert (Rockets), Breanna Stewart (Best Female Athlete and Best WNBA Player nominee), Lindsey Vonn (Olympic gold medalist), Dwyane Wade (NBA champion), Zion Williamson (Best College Athlete nominee), Russell Wilson (Seattle Seahawks), Trae Young (Best Breakthrough Athlete nominee), the U.S. Women's National Soccer Team, including Megan Rapinoe and Alex Morgan, and more.


Other Titles

  • Previously known as American Sports Awards: The ESPYs


  • Microsoft Theater/Nokia Theatre (2008-2019) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!