TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Cotton Bowl

Cotton Bowl

  • Premiered: 
    January 1, 1953
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: NBC
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Sports
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags: football (college)

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

  • Click a button to buy a DVD at Amazon
  • 2007: Auburn vs. Nebraska
    • Amazon
  • 2008: Missouri vs. Arkansas
    • Amazon
  • 2009: Ole Miss vs. Texas Tech
    • Amazon
  • 2010: Ole Miss vs. Oklahoma State
    • Amazon
  • 2011: LSU vs. Texas A&M
    • Amazon
  • 2012: Arkansas s. Kansas State
    • Amazon
  • 2013: Texas A&M vs. Oklahoma
    • Amazon
  • 2014: Missouri vs. Oklahoma State
    • Amazon
  • 2015: Michigan State vs. Baylor
    • Amazon
  • 2016: Alabama vs. Michigan State
    • Amazon
  • 2017: Wisconsin vs. Western Michigan
    • Amazon
  • 2019
    • Amazon
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

The Cotton Bowl is an annual college football post-season bowl game, typically held on New Year's Day. In anticipation of hosting a bowl game to compete with the Rose (CA), Orange (FL), and Sugar (LA) Bowls, in January 1936 the Dallas City Council and the Texas Centennial Central Exposition authorities renamed Dallas' Fair Park Stadium as the Cotton Bowl, which had seating for 46,000 people with the ability to expand to 70,000 for a national championship game. The inaugural game was played less than a year later on New Year's Day 1937. J. Curtis Sanford, an oil tycoon and real estate developer, financed the game, featuring TCU defeating Marquette 16-6 in front of 17,000 fans. The game featured the Southwest Conference winner until the conference's disbandment in 1996. The Cotton Bowl then featured a Southeastern Conference team against a Big 12 team through the 2012 matchup of Arkansas vs. Kansas State. Then, on April 24, 2012, the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic was selected as one of six bowl games to comprise the College Football Playoff. During this 12-year agreement, the Classic is part of a rotation for the national semifinals once every three years (following the 2015, 2018 and 2021 seasons). In years the Cotton Bowl Classic does not host a national semifinal game, the Playoff selection committee assigns a displaced conference champion, a top-ranked champion from a non-contract conference, or another highly-ranked team as the game's participants.

Other Titles

  • From 1937-1988 & in 1996, known simply as: Cotton Bowl
  • From 1989-1995, known as: Mobil Cotton Bowl
  • From 1997-2000, known as: Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Classic
  • From 2001-2006, known as: SBC Communications Cotton Bowl Classic
  • From 2007-2014, known as: AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic
  • Since 2015, known as: Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic


  • Cotton Bowl Stadium (1937-2009) - Dallas, Texas USA - Map It!
  • Cowboys Stadium / AT&T Stadium (2010-Present) - Dallas, Texas USA - Map It!