TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

College Football Awards

College Football Awards

  • Premiered: 
    December 7, 1991
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: ABC
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Sports
  • Tags: football (college)

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year since 1991, winners of several major college football awards are announced in this live broadcast. At the first event, winners were revealed for seven different awards, marking the first time the award winners were announced on the same day. Over the years, the number of awards has expanded to now include these nine awards: Maxwell Award (most outstanding player), Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player of the year), Biletnikoff Award (most outstanding wide receiver), Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award (most outstanding placekicker), Ray Guy Award (most outstanding punter), Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (best quarterback), Outland Trophy (most outstanding interior lineman), Jim Thorpe Award (most outstanding defensive back), and Doak Walker Award (most outstanding running back). Plus, the John Mackey Award (most outstanding tight end) and the Rimington Award (most outstanding center) have recently been presented during The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show. For the program's first two years, ABC telecast the one-hour event live from the College Football Hall of Fame, which was then located near Kings Island, OH. Since 1993, ESPN (1993 - 1997; 2000 - Present) or ESPN2 (1998 & 1999) broadcast the event live on Friday evening for the first year (1993) and on Thursday evenings afterwards. After being held at the College Football Hall of Fame for its first two years (1991 & 1992), this awards program was held at Epcot Center (1993), Disney-MGM Studios (1994-1998), Disney's Wide World of Sports Complex (1999) and the Atlantic Dance Hall at the Walt Disney World Resort from 2000 through 2014. In 2015, the COLLEGE FOOTBALL AWARDS moved back to the College Football Hall of Fame, now located at its new home in Atlanta, GA, where it has been held every year since.
THE 2016 HOME DEPOT COLLEGE FOOTBALL AWARDS -- hosted by Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard, Tom Rinaldi and Samantha Ponder -- were broadcast live from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, GA, on Thursday, December 8 from 7-9pm ET/4-6pm PT on ESPN, revealing winners from this list of finalists:

Maxwell Award: Lamar Jackson, Louisville QB; Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma QB; Jabrill Peppers, Michigan LB

Chuck Bednarik Award: Jonathan Allen, Alabama DE; Myles Garrett, Texas A&M DE; Jabrill Peppers, Michigan LB

Biletnikoff Award:Austin Carr, Northwestern; Zay Jones, East Carolina; Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award: Daniel Carlson, Auburn; Zane Gonzalez, Arizona State; Younghoe Koo, Georgia Southern

Ray Guy Award: Michael Dickson, Texas; Cameron Johnston, Ohio State; Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah

Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award: Lamar Jackson, Louisville; Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma; Deshaun Watson, Clemson

Outland Trophy: Pat Elflein, Ohio State C; Cody O'Connell, Washington State LG; Cam Robinson, Alabama LT

Jim Thorpe Award: Adoree' Jackson, USC CB; Jourdan Lewis, Michigan CB; Tre'Davious White, LSU CB

Doak Walker Award: Dalvin Cook, Florida State; D'Onta Foreman, Texas; Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State

Immediately before the Awards show, ESPNU presents a live broadcast of the College Football Awards Red Carpet Special from 6-7pm ET/3-4pm PT.


Other Titles

  • Previously known as The Subway College Football Awards
  • Also known as Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards
  • Also known as Home Depot College Football Awards


  • College Football Hall of Fame (1991 & 1992) - Cincinnati, Ohio USA
  • America Gardens Theater at Epcot Center (1993) - Orlando, Florida USA
  • Disney-MGM Studios (1994-1998) - Orlando, Florida USA
  • Disney's Wide World of Sports (1999) - Orlando, Florida USA
  • Atlantic Dance Hall (2000-2014) - Orlando, Florida USA - Map It!
  • College Football Hall of Fame (2015 - Present) - Atlanta, Georgia USA - Map It!